Forum Groups
  All forums
    Help & Feedback
      Questions
      Work in progress
      Finished Art
      Non-Max related
    Community
      Offtopic
      News
    Hardware
    Photography


Featured Threads
  Maxforums Kiva Group
(57 replies)
  The Life of a Sea Turtle - Tutorial by mrgrotey
(122 replies)
  So what are you working on? =)
(2765 replies)
  Want free webspace?
(20 replies)
  spam alert!!!
(4032 replies)
  Maxforums member photo gallery index
(113 replies)
  Maxforums Member Tutorials
(87 replies)
  three cheers to maxforums...
(185 replies)
  The Grotorial Index Page
(57 replies)
  101 Things you didnt know in Max...
(190 replies)
  A Face tutorial from MDB101 :D
(95 replies)
  Free textures thread
(83 replies)
  Maxforums.org Members Gallery
(486 replies)
  SON OF POST YOURSELF
(627 replies)
  Dub's Maxscript Tutorial Index
(119 replies)
  The Best Art of Maxforums [56k warning]
(109 replies)


fallingpixel
show user profile  Cube
Hi all,
Does anyone have any experiance buying 3D models from fallingpixel?
Is it a genuine site, i keep getting security certificate errors when i try to purchase.
Normally use turbosquide but they have a couple of models i need quite a bit cheaper.
Thanks
read 178 times
1/20/2012 10:30:16 AM (last edit: 1/20/2012 10:30:16 AM)
show user profile  Kajico
Seems legit, SSL CRT has been around since 2009, looks like some idiot forgot to renew it.

Expire: Tuesday, January 17, 2012 5:59:59 PM Central Standard Time

Registered to an address in GB.

Just accept the certificate when the browser throws the warning and tell it to continue. If you're using chrome do this
http://www.sslshopper.com/article-ssl-certificates-in-google-chrome.html

If you're using FF
http://www.sslshopper.com/article-more-discussion-about-how-firefox-3-handles-ssl-certificates.html

read 163 times
1/20/2012 11:27:06 AM (last edit: 1/20/2012 11:32:58 AM)
show user profile  Cube
Thanks kajico, i've dropped them and email so will see what they say.
Just a bit wary as often things that seem too good to be true are.
read 161 times
1/20/2012 11:28:57 AM (last edit: 1/20/2012 11:28:57 AM)
show user profile  Kajico
Yep. I have to do these kind of investigations everyday for work. Checking validity of websites to see they are not scammers and shut them down if they are. Usually most won't bother signing a cert for 3 years and then disappear. They'll sign for a year and sign new ones every six months so they can switch domains right away when shut down.
read 156 times
1/20/2012 11:34:12 AM (last edit: 1/20/2012 11:34:12 AM)
show user profile  Jock
Yeah its legit, run by turbosquid these days, though the owner is still about.

read 150 times
1/20/2012 11:47:45 AM (last edit: 1/20/2012 11:47:45 AM)
show user profile  Jonpolygon
Hi Cube,

This is Jonathan Lloyd from Falling Pixel and TurboSquid.
Unfortunately after the change of address to the US there were some problems authorizing the SSL certificate. We have since replaced the expired SSL cert so you shouldn't encounter any more warnings.

Best,
Jonathan

read 105 times
1/24/2012 4:32:51 PM (last edit: 1/24/2012 4:34:19 PM)
show user profile  zeefusion
^ Wow

Mila Kunis you are awesome.....waits
read 99 times
1/24/2012 4:38:49 PM (last edit: 1/24/2012 6:43:28 PM)
#Maxforums IRC
Open chat window


Support Maxforums.org